Wildling Reincarnation – Vol 1 Chapter 1

Enjoy the chapter!

Chapter 1 – Gobu, My Waistcoat, And Me

I woke up in the forest, and I was completely naked. Seriously, God damn it, I don’t even have any clothes on! Calm down, and I’m counting prime numbers. In a situation like this, you should rank the things that need to be done and do them one by one.

The first thing to do is to secure drinking water. No, the first thing is shoes. Even a small wound can become a severe problem if germs get in. I don’t know if germs exist in this world, but I guess it’s better to be cautious.

I peeled off the bark of a tree, tied it with ivy, and used a fallen leaf as an insole. I’m glad I watched the Discovery Channel’s “Life in the Hidden World.

Thank you! Thanks!

Water is next. People can’t move in three days without water. It doesn’t matter how tough you are, and you’ll be dead in a few days.

There are several ways to find water. The quickest way is to look for water from high places.

Climb a tall tree or a mountain. There doesn’t seem to be any mountains around. We have to climb the trees. Perhaps this forest is an old-growth forest that humans have not touched, but old-growth trees are abundant.

There were many tall trees, so we would have no trouble finding a place to look down. However, climbing a tree in the nude was a hurdle. Many of the bark is complex, and the risk of injury is high.

If I were wearing shoes, I could tie my shoelaces together and climb up the tree as if I were pinching myself. But I was completely naked. Not just my shoelaces, but my whole body, unguarded.

I was in trouble, and I remembered the Discovery Channel. Some of the trees have vines growing from relatively high up.

If I could find it, I could climb up the tree in the manner of a rope climber. Thank you! Bear Gry0s.

After a short walk, I was lucky enough to find a tree with vines growing from above. Climbing up the vine, I carefully get on a branch near the top of the tree.

I’m so scared of the height that my balls hum. If I fall, it’s over. I wrapped the vine around my arm and looked around.

The trees are overgrown, and visibility is poor, but luckily I find the river.

Yes! I’m saved. But, watch out! I was so happy to have secured the water that I lost my balance and almost fell to my death.

I’ve heard that tree climbing accidents are more common on the way down. I guess it’s because people feel safe and relax. I carefully climbed down from the tree.

I was glad to have found the river. I would be able to get a stable supply of water. If I couldn’t find a river, I could look for water-loving mosses or replenish moisture from trees that can store water.

However, the water source where the mosses are growing could be a puddle of water that is not clean. Since we don’t know the vegetation of this world, we can’t identify trees that store water, and we don’t have the tools to cut trees.

We could try to track animals and ask them to lead us to a water hole, but it would be tough. There is also the risk of encountering dangerous wild animals.

I heard that there are monsters in this world. It’s even more dangerous than the forests of Earth. We had to be very careful.

Fortunately, we soon found a river. It looks like we can get drinking water without taking those risky methods.

Animals tend to gather at damp places. We approached the river cautiously, keeping an eye out for monsters. The creatures that live in the river will give you an indication of whether the river is safe or not.

If there are shrimps, it means the water is clean. If there are insect larvae, you will need to boil the water. This is just a rough guide, but this is a different world.

There is a possibility that common sense on Earth may not apply. To be cautious, you should boil the water before drinking.

If possible, I’d like to filter it to remove impurities, but unfortunately, I’m completely naked. I’d like to make a filtration system with what I have in the forest, but I don’t know how to make it.

I know how to make a filtration system using plastic bottles, but I can’t think of making one using only what I can find in the forest.

There’s no end to what I can do. For the time being, we had found a source of drinking water. We had to find a base before the sun went down.

A little further away from the river, we found a wooden cave. It was surprisingly spacious inside. It seemed to be sheltered from the wind and rain.

If we could camouflage the entrance, it would be a great place to live.

We managed to secure drinking water and made a base. I put on a waistcoat made of tree bark to hide my crotch.

I managed to protect my dignity as a human being. I felt uncomfortable if I was exposed for any length of time.

I was cautious about eating the fruits and other edible things around me and did patch tests to ensure they were safe before I ate them.

Fortunately, food is abundant in this forest. I don’t think I will starve to the point of extreme hunger.

I had always wondered about the story. Why do the main characters move around without any preparation? They don’t know the distance to the town, and they are walking around without any food.

I can’t imagine that. I was too scared to move unless I had at least some water.

I decided to get some food, such as smoked dried meat and dried fruits, before leaving the forest and headed for the town.

First, I had to make a fire.

Tearing the skin from my hands, I managed to build a fire using wood in the style of rubbing a stick. The humidity in this forest was not that high.

Fortunately, it hadn’t been raining recently.

The most important thing when building a fire is to keep it dry. Not surprisingly, the quality of the wood is also essential.

Wood that has the right amount of resistance is good because it raises the temperature through friction. If the wood is too dry or the opposition is so strong that the sticks cannot rotate, it is difficult to start a fire.

When rubbing the sticks, be aware of the friction, not the speed of rotation. Rotate the bars as if you were pressing down on them from above.

I have seen videos on video sites that show people using friction to start a fire in less than a minute.

This is because the air is dry, and the wood is appropriately processed.

Conversely, it is surprisingly easy to start a fire if you use the right tools and follow the proper procedures.

It is more difficult in humid places such as tropical rain forests. If you are not good at it, you may not be able to start a fire even after rubbing a stick all day.

Luckily, this time, I made a fire after the skin on my hands was torn off. We were lucky to start the fire before the sun went down and it became dark.

I was wondering what would happen when we started naked, but we were lucky. We were able to secure drinking water and a base of operations.

We also succeeded in building a fire before it got dark. We ate some fruit and took in some calories.

It was a perfect start to the first day.

All that was left was to hunt our prey and smoke the meat. A lot of trial and error will be necessary. We lacked the essential ingredients such as salt and blue liquid.

However, it should keep for a long time if the water is blown off. The same goes for fruit. I also need to make a water bottle out of animal skins.

It was already getting dark. I guess that’s it for today. I have a lot of work to do, but I’m going to bed.

While I was sleeping, I woke up with a severe itch. My crotch was covered in bug bites.

The vital part of my body was itching painfully.

Oh, shit! I forgot to smother my waistcoat with smoke to keep the bugs away.

I was in a terrible fix. Some insects carry diseases. I know it’s not perfect protection, but I have to be careful.

The next morning, I smashed stones to make a stoneware vessel and peeled the tree’s bark to make a pot for boiling water. Surprisingly, raw wood with water in it is difficult to burn.

If it is used to boil water, it is safe to put it on the fire. I knew this as a survival knowledge, and at the Ainu museum where I went on a school trip, there was a pot made of well-processed bark on display.

I know and have seen the actual products. My processing skills are inexperienced, and I don’t have the know-how, but I can’t make anything.

Even if I couldn’t make something as magnificent as that, I could make a pot to boil water for drinking.

However, some of the trees are poisonous, so we need to drink a little and see what happens. I’m thirsty, and the river looks clean. I’m tempted to drink it, but I resist.

As I drank the water boiled in the bark pot, I thought, “This water smells organic. It smells organic. I couldn’t help but gulp. It has a strong woody smell.

I’m sure the smell will fade after a while, but it’s so intense. Even after a time, there was no change in my physical condition. Despite the pungent smell, it didn’t seem to be harmful to the human body.

With tears in my eyes, I drank up the stinky organic juice.

I then climbed a tall tree to check my current position. I continued to climb cautiously until I reached a height where I could see my surroundings.

I had also climbed a high tree when I was looking for a water hole, but that time I was focused on finding the river. I focused on finding the river that I didn’t have time to take a good look around.

Once again, I took a good look around. Unfortunately, there were no roads, buildings, or other human-made structures insight.

I took another look around, but it was just a forest. I wondered how long it would take me to get out of the woods. ……

To get out of the forest, we needed to secure a lot of food that would last for a long time. We would have to hunt animals with traps and secure meat that would keep for a long time.

To secure food, I decided to start hunting in earnest.

Today, a few days after I started hunting, I encountered a monster for the first time. We had set up a simple trap to catch the animal and were waiting in a tree when the beast came.

“Ga-ga-ga-ga!”

“Gagga gagga gagga.”

“Gegah Gegah!”

It was our first encounter with the monster we were all familiar with, the goblin. Wow, he says, “gegah gegah.” Oh no, I’m getting excited.

The goblins walked closer to the trap I had set. This is my chance to gain some experience! I waited patiently for the goblins to fall into the trap.

I waited patiently for the goblins to fall into the trap, and then a goblin sniffed near the mine and quickly saw through my pitfalls and other surprises.

Oh well! I’ll have to get rid of the scent. I was depressed as I realized my mistake.

The goblins were pointing at the traps and laughing hysterically. It was as if they were saying, “You’re a dumbass.

The goblins were making fun of me, and I was red in the face.

The next thing I know, I’m jumping out of the tree in a fit of rage and smashing the wooden stick I’d been using as a staff against the goblin’s head.

The goblins didn’t seem to notice that I was lurking in the tree, and they froze in surprise.

When I slammed the wooden stick into them, I felt a definite response. The goblin that had been hit in the head fell like a puppet that had lost its strings.

However, the wooden stick was broken from the force of the blow.

There were three goblins, one of which had fallen, and there were only two left. I threw a front kick at the throat of the goblin, which was frozen in surprise at the sudden event as if I were thrusting the sole of my upper foot.

The goblin’s throat crumpled, and it fell.

The rest of the goblins finally realized what had happened. They bared their hostility towards me, the attacker who had suddenly appeared, and with a growl, they attacked me with a crude club.

It was a big swinging attack with a clear trajectory. I calmly dodged to the side and unleashed a fist bump to his empty face.

“Hey!”

The goblin was blown away by the thrust, which hit the goblin’s midsection. I felt a definite response.

But the goblin wobbled and got back up. Oh well, the vital points are different from the human body.

I realized my mistake and clicked my tongue.

The goblin was wobbling and swinging his club like a madman. The first attack was easy to avoid, probably because I was still upset.

He was now a wounded goblin. The deadly attacks were a threat even for a goblin. It was harder to dodge such rough attacks than clean ones.

Moreover, their short stature made it difficult to read their trajectory.

I decided to concentrate on evading for a while. My eyes became accustomed to the attacks, and the goblin’s stamina began to run out.

When their movements slowed down, I deliberately created an opening and invited them to attack. It’s easy to match a tired and lacking attack with a last-ditch attack.

I swung down from above with my club and struck the goblin in the medulla oblongata with my hand.

“Eishaaah!”

The goblin’s body shuddered and stopped moving.

It’s a great way to make sure you don’t get caught in the middle of the action.

“I thrust my elbow vertically into the goblin’s brain.”

After a crushing sound, a sticky liquid flowed from the goblin’s nose, and it collapsed and stopped moving.

I kept my eyes on the other goblins, not letting my guard down.

The first goblin I hit with the wooden stick was bleeding to death. His head was cracked open, or perhaps he was drowning in his blood.

The second goblin was still breathing. The second goblin was still living, but his throat was crushed, and he struggled to breathe. I approached the second goblin and stomped on its head with my heel to stop it.

I dropped down to a position where I could see all three goblins and looked around for any signs of other monsters or animals that might have come by the commotion.

After determining that there were no footsteps or signs of life and confirming that the goblins were not moving, I finally let out a sigh.

Without even checking the strength of the goblin, I lost my temper and did it. Now I regret it.

In many stories, the goblins are quite strong. I did it on the spur of the moment, but it was a dangerous thing to do.

I’m not sure what to make of it. I’m not sure what’s going on here, but I’m sure there’s a rusty knife or something they took from some adventurer.

I’m not even sure if I’m wearing a waistcoat or not, but these guys are so exposed! It’s a shame that these people made fun of me. It stings!

It’s time to get back on track and collect the proof of defeat.

In light novels about other worlds, the ears are the proof of defeat, right? I was lost in front of the goblin’s corpse.

I wanted to take the ear, but I didn’t have a blade. I had heard that if you pull the ear toward you while twisting it, you can tear it off, so I tried it, even though I hated it.

The cross-section was messy, but I managed to shave off the ear. I don’t know what I’m going to do with it, though. There’s nothing I can do. I’ll just put it near the drying place where they make dried fruits and let them dry.

Oh yeah, I should check the status. I shaved off the goblin’s ears, then went back to my base and opened up my level.

As soon as I was reincarnated into another world, I was completely naked and confused. Then I found a river, and near it, I found a nice wooden cave.

I blocked the entrance with a branch, hid it with a leaf, and took a hiatus to get a somewhat safe base. Now that I had a secure base, I could finally afford to look at my status.

This status display was useless. It only showed my level and skills. It didn’t even offer the experience needed to reach the next level, nor did it show strength, speed, HP, or MP.

Level 1 

Skill

KARATE

That’s it. What’s the point of this? I mean, why is karate written in Roman characters?

Is this some bogus foreign “KARATE” dojo! Is that a BABY0ETAL song! I’ve been doing severe karate for years, so this is disgusting.

It’s that goddamn thing! Seriously, this status is fucking useless. I tried not to look at it because it annoyed me every time I saw it.

Having defeated the goblin, I checked my status for the first time in a while.

Level2

Skills

KARA-TE

Why are you pronouncing it like a foreigner! What the hell is a Kara-te? That God, you’re watching and trying to stir things up! The God of this world is you! Huh~ Calm down and count the prime numbers.

The level had gone up. I’m a little bit happy about it, after all.

I’ll have to check my physical abilities later. From now on, I’ll hunt goblins as much as possible to raise my level.

You can quickly look it up by searching, but I will explain some terms that may be difficult to understand.

This is my personal opinion.

Glossary

Upper tarsus

The part of the foot at the base of the toes, used for stabbing foot attacks.

Midriff

The groove between the lips and nose. Or the acupuncture point located in that groove. Some schools are called the most critical acute issue, and some instructors teach students to aim at the jin chu when practicing shocked-Tsuki.

Go-no-sen

A technique of forcing the opponent to attack and then counterattacking by exploiting the opening in the attack. A type of counter.

KARA-TE

The movie “The Best of Both Worlds” was a big hit in the U.S. and created a karate boom. It was a time when the information was not as readily available as it is today, so bogus karate dojos with fake instructors spread throughout the United States.

Since the fake dojos instructors had never actually received karate instruction, they could not even pronounce karate correctly and used the pronunciation “karate,” which was easy for foreigners to pronounce.

It was difficult for the bogus karate practitioners to pronounce karate correctly that the formula “karate = bogus” could be established.

<<Previous Table Of Content Next>>

Leave a comment